I might illuminate entire rooms/ I shine so bright.

March 23, 2010

How would you explain what a poem is to my seven year old? –herecomeseverybody

I’d really have to meet your seven year old, I think, before I could say! But in the abstract, I guess I’d say a poem is a bunch of words, usually on a piece of paper, though sometimes not, arranged in such a way that when you hear it or read it or say it, something happens to you, even if it’s not something you can explain right away.

-Maggie Nelson

Assignment: Explain poetry to someone new to language.


Leave a Reply

